NIHR appoints Senior Investigators for 2021

Ammar Al-Chalabi, Professor of Neurology and Complex Disease Genetics at Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN) at King’s College London, has been appointed to the NIHR College of Senior Investigators for 2021 in the 14th round of the Senior Investigator competition. Professor Al-Chalabi is co-lead of the Psychosis and Neuropsychiatry research theme at the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Maudsley BRC.

Researchers are awarded NIHR Senior Investigator status for internationally excellent research – in particular its value, significance to patients and the public, and its overall healthcare impact. The annual competition is led by an international panel of experts, and awardees go on to provide visible leadership within the NIHR.

Professor Ammar Al-Chalabi told us:

I am honoured to be an NIHR Senior Investigator.

The NIHR has been vital to my research into motor neuron disease, and I am excited to be able to contribute significantly as a senior leader and ambassador.”

Senior Investigators are leaders in research and are fundamental to expanding scientific avenues to address public health challenges across the country. An independent expert committee chaired by Professor Marion Walker advised on the 2021 appointments.

NIHR Senior Investigator status is awarded according to:

  • criteria of contribution to NIHR
  • quality and volume of internationally excellent research
  • its relevance to patients and the public
  • impact on improvements in healthcare and public health
  • research leadership
  • engagement of patients and the public
  • engagement of healthcare policy makers and planners with their research

Professor Lucy Chappell, NIHR Research Professor in Obstetrics at King’s College London has also been appointed.

The NIHR Senior Investigator re-appointments are:

  • Professor Allan Young, Chair of Mood Disorders and Director of the Centre for Affective Disorders
  • Professor Colin Drummond, Professor of Addiction Psychiatry and Consultant Psychiatrist at the National Addiction Centre

Professor Matthew Hotopf CBE, Director of NIHR Maudsley BRC, is now an Emeritus Senior Investigator.

The IoPPN’s current or emeritus Senior Investigators at the IoPPN are:


Professors Ammar Al-Chalabi, Colin Drummond, Peter Goadsby, Louise Howard, Philip McGuire, Ann McNeill, Carmine Pariante, Andrew Pickles, Ulrike Schmidt, Emily Simonoff, Robert Stewart, John Strang, Steven Williams and Allan Young.


Professors Matthew Hotopf, Philippa Garety, Elizabeth Kuipers, Sir Robin Murray, Sir Graham Thornicroft, Sir Simon Wessely and Dame Til Wykes.

Further reading

Further information on NIHR Senior Investigators is available on the NIHR website. 

NIHR announces Senior Investigators for 2021 - The NIHR has announced the appointment of 46 NIHR Senior Investigators in the 2021 round of awards.

Tags: Staff News - Motor Neuron Disease -

By NIHR Maudsley BRC at 3 Mar 2021, 09:00 AM

Back to Blog List